Google is changing the interface for Documents to Google Drive this month. If you have already opted-in to use Google Drive, you will not see any change. If you do nothing, when your account is switched to the Google Drive user interface, it will replace your existing Documents List, without losing any of our existing files.
Beginning November 8, all users who have opted out and are using the old look for Docs will see a banner that reads “The old look of Google Docs will be going away soon – Upgrade” and will include a link to allow users to switch to the Drive web interface.
Beginning November 15, users who have opted out automatically will be switched over to the new Drive Web interface. Users can still switch back to the old Docs look (by clicking the gears icon and selecting ‘Temporarily use the old look”). Users who revert to the old look, will again see the banner advising them that the old look is going away.
Effective November 29, all users who have reverted to the old Docs look will be switched to the Drive web interface again for the last time. At this time, the ability to switch back to the old Docs look will be disabled and the new Drive web interface will be mandatory for all users.
Think of Google Drive as your personal stash of files and folders that follows you wherever you go. It lets you keep everything and share anything. With Google Drive, you can access files, folders, and Google Docs from a Web browser or any device where you’ve installed your Google Drive.
Google Drive’s built-in sync capability ensures that your files, folders, and Google Docs are the same on all your devices.
To learn more about Google Drive, visit the Google Apps Learning Center.
For additional support, contact OTS Support Desk at email@example.com or x73375.