myIIT Portal

    PreMedicine

    Dr. Kathryn Spink
    Chief Health Professions Advisor and Program Coordinator
    146C Life Sciences Building
    Chicago, Il 60616
    spink@iit.edu
    312.567.3441

    Cathie D'Amico
    Administrative Assistant
    314 Wishnick Hall
    Chicago, IL 60616
    damico@iit.edu
    312.567.5324

    Todd Kersh
    Administrative Assistant
    182 Life Sciences Building
    Chicago, IL 60616
    kersh@iit.edu
    312.567.7986

    Advisory Committee

    The PreMedical Advisory Committee–comprised of a chair, program coordinator and faculty advisors–provides overall direction for the PreMedical programs at IIT and serves as a body of student advisors.

    Once students choose a major, they are assigned a PreMedical advisor from their department. Advisors help with course scheduling, monitor academic progress, and identify volunteer and research opportunities. Advisors also help with the medical school admission process, including:

    • Preparing students for the Medical College Admission Test, or MCAT, in the third year of undergraduate study.
    • Collecting letters of recommendation.
    • Forwarding applications to medical schools designated by students.

    *These committee members are also student advisors.

    Committee Members

    Chair
    Dr. Kathryn M. Spink

    Department of Biological, Chemical and Physical Sciences
    146C Life Sciences Building
    Chicago, IL 60616
    spink@iit.edu
    312.567.3441



    Program Coordinator/Director of PreMedical Office
    Cathie D'Amico

    314 Wishnick Hall
    Chicago, IL 60616
    damico@iit.edu
    312.567.5324



    Prof. Konstantinos Arfanakis*Professor Konstantinos Arfanakis
    Biomedical Engineering

    217 Wishnick Hall
    Chicago, IL 60616
    arfanakis@iit.edu
    312.567.3864



    Todd Kersh
    Administrative Assistant

    182 Life Sciences Building
    Chicago, IL 60616
    kersh@iit.edu
    312.567.7986



    Professor Nicholas Menhart
    PreMedical Advisor for Molecular Biochemistry and Biophysics

    352 Life Sciences
    Chicago, IL 60616
    menhart@iit.edu
    312.567.3123



    Professor Satish Parulekar
    Chemical and Biological Engineering

    127 Perlstein Hall
    Chicago, IL 60616
    parulekar@iit.edu
    312.567.3044



    Professor Michael Young
    Psychology

    246B Life Sciences
    Chicago, IL 60616
    youngm@iit.edu
    312.567.3503

    Last modified: 02/26/2014 18:25:24

    © Illinois Institute of Technology   3300 South Federal Street, Chicago, IL 60616-3793 || 312.567.3000
    Undergraduate Admission Tel 312.567.3025 || Toll Free 800.448.2329 || Graduate Admission Tel 312.567.3020 || Toll Free 866.472.3448
    webmaster@iit.edu || Emergency Information || Site Index