myIIT Portal
    Wiser Logo

    Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER)

    10 West 35th Street
    IIT Tower - 16th Floor
    Chicago, IL 60616
    Phone: 312.567.6881
    Fax: 312.567.3622

    News & Events Archives 2009

    WISER Announces Interdisciplinary Seed Funding Grant Winners

    Posted: 12/13/09

    IIT's Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER) has announced it will fund four research projects as part its new Interdisciplinary Seed Funding Grants (ISFG) program. As designed, the program will provide seed funding for new and innovative multidisciplinary research concepts that are expected to attract significant external funding in areas of national interest related to energy and sustainability. The four winning proposals were selected by the ISFG Program Faculty Review Committee from among 14 proposals submitted it response to an RFP issued September 2009. Program funding will begin Spring semester 2010.

    WISER Co-Sponsors Chicago-Kent Sustainability Conference

    More than 100 members of the Chicago legal and environmental communities gathered at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law on July 22 for a sustainability conference titled "Moving the Midwest Forward: The Benefits of Building a Low-Carbon Economy."

    The program, co-sponsored by IIT's Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER) and Jules F. Knapp Entrepreneurship Center, and the Chicago law firm of Foley & Lardner LLP, brought together entrepreneurs, policymakers, environmentalists and scholars for three panel discussions on timely topics in energy and sustainability.

    View program video

    Henry R. Linden Endowed Chair in Engineering Investiture

    Chemical engineeering professor and the Director of Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER), Hamid Arastoopour was invested as the Henry R. Linden Endowed Chair in Engineering at a ceremony on April 30 in the MTCC.

    The Henry R. Linden Endowed professorship was established in 2000 by Roger W. Sant, chairman emeritus and co-founder of the AES Corporation, to honor and recognize the accomplishments of Linden, an IIT professor, director of the IIT Energy and Power Center and the co-founder of the Gas Research Institute (GRI). The award preserves and expands Linden's legacy at IIT by supporting the teaching and research of an individual who will assume a leadership role in industrial ecology and design for the environment.

    Arastoopour served as chairman of the chemical engineering department from 1989 to 2003 and as dean of Armour College of Engineering from 2003 to 2008.

    Source: IIT Today, 5/7/09

    Last modified: 04/28/2014 22:41:25

    © Illinois Institute of Technology   3300 South Federal Street, Chicago, IL 60616-3793 || 312.567.3000
    Undergraduate Admission Tel 312.567.3025 || Toll Free 800.448.2329 || Graduate Admission Tel 312.567.3020 || Toll Free 866.472.3448 || Emergency Information || Site Index