Minutes of the Undergraduate Studies Committee



Attending Voting Members: K. Spink (BIOL), M. Beckman (CS), D. Meyer (MSED), S. Tin (MMAE), B. O'Brien (ROTC), R. Trygstad (ITM), M. Safar (INTM),  J. Twombly (SSB), Y. Torun (PHYS), G. Fasshauer (AMAT), G. Pulliam (HUM), M. Tanner (CHEM), R. Steffenson (SSCI), P. Troyk (BME), F. Teymour CHBE).


Also attending: G. Welter (UGAA), M. Lopez (One Stop), G. Smith (UGAA), J. Dorr (Galvin), T. Jacobius (IPRO), H. Munsterman (KENT).


Absent departments: CAEE, ARCH, PSYC, SGA.


The meeting is chaired by Matt Bauer.


Documents pertaining to this meeting are here:



Adjourn: 1:45 p.m. Minutes recorded by Pulliam.


Chair notes there is a quorum at 12:48 p.m.


Minutes of 10/9/2012 meeting are approved unanimously.


Old business

1) Bauer: Gen Ed subcommittee work has been put on hold by request of the academic deans.


2) IPRO review committee members for 2012-2013 AY year named by Bauer and Troyk: Beckman (CS), Braband (SSB), Krawczyk (ARCH), Lane (PSYC), Menhart (BIOL), Safar (INTM), Schug (CHEM), Snyder (CAEE), Spenko (MMAE), Krishnamurthy (ECE).


New business

3) Munsterman from KENT presents new MS in Intellectual Property Management and Markets for consideration by Main Campus academic units in co-terminal degrees. Discussion centers on the new MS, then moves to a more general discussion of co-terminal degrees—specifically, the proliferation of such degrees vs. an approach which would create a framework for co-terminal degrees to be created on an ad hoc basis.  Non-action item.


4) Review of Incomplete grade process—tabled until the Registrar can come to explain.


5) ESL assessment for undergraduate students and possible ESL courses to be provided by SAT, expansion of orientation for new intŐl UG by deean of students and retention task force—tabled until SAT and retention task force can come to explain and discuss.


6) Discussion of creation of a subcommittee to look into common goals, objectives for ITPs—focus turns to a general discussion of ITPs—purpose, rules, goals, etc. Nominees requested from departments—BIOL has nominated Andy Howard or Joseph Orgel.