Undergraduate Studies Committee                          11/22/2011


Attending Voting Members: J. Saniie (ECE), J. Hopkins (PSYC), S. Whitney (MSED), D. Kamper (BME), M. Beckman (CS), S. Tin (MMAE), Y. Torun (PHYS), F. Teymour (CHBE), J. Ovhori (SGA), R. Trygstad (ITM), G. Fasshauer AMAT), G. Pulliam (HUM).

Also attending: M. Lopez (UGAA), G. Smith (UGAA), G. Welter (UGAA), M. Gosz (UGA), P. Zachocki (SRR), J. Dorr (GL).


The meeting is chaired by Matt Bauer.

Chair notes there is a quorum at 12:50 p.m. Meeting is convened.

Adjourn: 1:45 p.m. Minutes recorded by Pulliam


1) The minutes of the 11/08/2011 meeting are approved unanimously.


Old Business

2a) Discussion on a framework for review of the general education



Institutional Educational Objectives

(developed from the IIT Vision, Mission, Values and Core Principles, and the

IIT Strategic Plan)

The goal of the undergraduate programs is to prepare minds and equip

graduates to perform successfully in careers in an increasingly complex,

global, technological world. Excellence in a discipline alone is no longer a

sufficient means to such success. The institutional objectives for student

learning are formed through an inter-professional focus on disciplinary

strength, a professional competence, and a broad commitment to social

concerns, demonstrated by the following attributes and skills.


Attributes - first 3 met by every student, the 4th item possibly flexible by


- Interdisciplinary Experience

- Ethics, Leadership and Teamwork

- Global Awareness and Appreciation of Diversity

- Design, Entrepreneurship and Innovation


Skills - met by every student

- Disciplinary Strength

- Oral and Written Communication

- Critical Thinking

- Quantitative Reasoning

- Scientific Reasoning


Then after consensus on the above, the next step is to define the general

education objectives needed to support the institutional educational



2b) University wide NCA assessment - S. Whitney from MSED gave an overview

of assessment procedures.

See http://www.iit.edu/~ugsc/documents/


New business

3a) One hour reduction to 125 hours in BS in PHYS (Yagmur Torun) - Sent back to PHYS dept, as IIT's minimum to graduate is 126.


3b/3c) New co-terminal degree (Yagmur Torun) - BS & MS in Physics , (Bauer)

- BS in AMAT and MS in CS, BS in PHYS and MS in CS. Discussion centered on double-counting courses toward BS and MS degrees.

See http://www.iit.edu/~ugsc/documents/


3d) ITP review subcommittee - Tabled until Spring 2012.


3e) Minors - Tabled until Spring 2012.


4) Adjournment