Minutes of the Undergraduate Studies Committee                          2/14/2012


Attending Voting Members: J. Saniie (ECE), J. Stein (PSYC),, S. Tin (MMAE), Y. Torun (PHYS), F. Teymour (CHBE), R. Trygstad (ITM), G. Pulliam (HUM/CAC), S. Sennott (ARCH), U. Segerstrale (SSCI), M. Snyder (CAEE), K. Spink (BIOL), M. Safar (INTM), J. Twombly (SSB).


Also attending: M. Lopez (UGAA), G. Smith (UGAA), G. Welter (UGAA), P. Zachocki (SRR), J. Dorr (GL), K. Cassel (MMAE), J. Kallend (ACE), J. Dorr (GL), G. Doyle (UA), T. Jacobius (IPRO), N. DePaola (ACE), J. Mohammadi (CAEE/ACE).


The meeting is chaired by Matt Bauer.

Chair notes there is not a quorum at 12:40 p.m. Meeting is convened for discussion of ITP subcommittee report. PDF is here.

Adjourn: 1:35 p.m. Minutes recorded by Pulliam


0) Approval of the minutes of the 1/10/2012 meeting is delayed for a quorum.


2) Old Business

2a) Discussion on the framework for review of the general education

requirements--postponed as there is no update at this time.


0) Chair notes there is a quorum. Unanimous consent to approve 1/10/12 minutes.


3) New business

3a) Discussion of Engineering Themes--ACE Dean N. DePaola. PDF is here.


2c) Kallend report on co-terminal degrees and discussion. PDF is here.


3b) BS in CPE to require 131 hours (was either 130 or 131). Unanimous approval.


3c) K. Spink on new BIOL 105 course for non-science/engineering majors. PDF is here.


3d) R. Trygstad on ITM 311 (3 hrs)--SAT asks that it count as gen ed CS elective. Unanimous approval.


Other agenda items postponed until next meeting.