Minutes of the Undergraduate Studies Committee



Attending Voting Members: J. Twombly (SSB), G. Fasshauer (AMAT), G. Pulliam (HUM/CAC), S. Ahua (SGA), E-J Lee (PSYC), R. Steffenson (SSCI), S. Sennott (ARCH), M. Safar (INTM), S. Tin (MMAE), P. Troyk (BME), B. Koehr (ROTC), J. Shen (CAEE), K. Spink (BIOL), N. Karuri (CHBE).


Also attending: G. Welter (UGAA), M. Lopez (One Stop), G. Smith (UGAA), P. Zachocki (Registrar), R. Cammino (ACE), J. Alexis (ID/IPRO), J. Kallend (ACE), S. Morris (PSYC).


Absent departments: CHEM, CS, ITM, ECE, MSED, PHYS.


The meeting is chaired by Matt Bauer.

Documents pertaining to this meeting are here: http://www.iit.edu/~ugsc/documents/

Adjourn: 1:42 p.m. Minutes recorded by Pulliam.


Chair notes there is a quorum at 12:47 p.m.


Minutes of 2/12/2013 meeting are approved unanimously, with one change.


Old business


1) (Steffenson) new BS in Applied Economics—second reading and vote: passes unanimously.


2) (Morris) BS Behavioral Health and Wellness—second reading and vote: passes unanimously with some additional feedback.


3) (Alexis) IPRO Review Committee to become IPRO Oversight Committee.

Moved and seconded: That Jeremy Alexis be made chair of the renamed and retasked IPRO Oversight Committee; that he staff it and report back to the UGSC by the end of this term on the committee’s activities. Approved unanimously.


New business

4) New co-terminal degrees: discussion of specific new C-T degrees delayed due to a discussion of the existing co-terminal degree approval process.

Moved and seconded: That new co-terminal degree programs become informational items to the UGSC, if the relevant individual academic units have approved the programs. This item is to be taken back to academic units for discussion before proceeding to a vote.