Undergraduate Studies Committee                                Minutes 3/4/04


Attending Voting Members: M. Bauer (CS), G. Bunker (BCPS), C. Hall (BME), P. Johnson (BCPS), J. Kallend (MMAE), J. Lederman (MSED), J. LoCicero (ECE), K. McKee (MT), J. O'Leary (CAE), M. Poros (SocSci), G. Raman (MMAE), F. Ruiz (MMAE), J. Saletta (ECE), R. Trygstad (ITM), A. Wolach (Psyc),


Non-Voting Attendees: B. Benner (Underg. Adm.), T. Carroll (Regist), D. Geiger (Student Affairs), K. Hurley (OTS), T. Jacobius (IBIS), C. Orze (Ed Serv), S. Sitton (Assist. Provost), C. Stewart (Galvin Library), G. Welter (Ed Serv).


The meeting is chaired by Dean D. Ucci.

The minutes are recorded by Dean J. Snapper (for Dean C. Wark).


The minutes of the meeting of Feb 29, 2004 are approved.


The USC continued discussion of the IPRO Study Group Final Report.


It is moved and seconded that


WHEREAS:   General Education presently requires that students take at least

six credits of IPRO,

WHEREAS:   Departments can require and students may elect to enroll in

more IPROs than demanded by General Education, and

WHEREAS:   The IPRO program is not adequately funded and academic units

are not adequately compensated for faculty resources assigned

to the IPRO program,



The General Education requirement be reduced to three

credits hours of IPRO.


Further discussion and possible vote on the motion is scheduled for the next meeting of the USC.




Prof. Snapper

Acting Secretary to the USC.