Undergraduate Studies Committee                                         Minutes 4/1/04


Attending Voting Members:  J. Abbasian (CHE), S. Argamon (CS),  M. Bauer (CS), P. Beltemacci (Arch),  G. Bunker (BCPS), K. Cassel (voting for G. Raman, MMAE), D. Cork (BCPS),  C. Hall (BME), P. Johnson (BCPS),  J. Kallend (MMAE),  J. LoCicero (ECE), K. McKee (MT), J. O'Leary (CAE), M. Ortiz (A. ROTC), M. Poros (SocSci), M. Power (Hum), G. Pulliam (Hum), F. Ruiz (MMAE), J. Saletta (ECE), S. E. Stueben (Math),  R. Trygstad (ITM), , A. Wolach (Psyc).


Non-Voting Attendees:  K. Aragaki (Student), G. Broadhead (CAC), A. Collver (Student Gov), I. Dobbins (MAP),  D. Ferguson (IBIS), J. Fischer (IBIS), D. Geiger (Student Affairs),  M. Huyck (Psyc), T. Jacobius (IBIS), M. Lopez  (Ed Serv), P. Lykos (BCPS), D. Roberson (IBIS), Sennott (Arch), K. Schug (BCPS), S. Sitton (Asst. Provost), J. Twombly (IBIS), C. Wark  (Armour Col).


The meeting is chaired by Dean D. Ucci.

The minutes are recorded by Dean J. Snapper (for Dean C. Wark).


The minutes of the meeting of March 4, 2004 are approved.


It is moved and seconded that the USC proceed directly to continue discussion on the motion concerning IPRO general education from March 4.:  

The motion to change the agenda passes (11,1,0)


The USC debates the motion:


WHEREAS:    General Education presently requires that students take at least

six credits of IPRO,

WHEREAS:    Departments can require and students may elect to enroll in

more IPROs than demanded by General Education, and

WHEREAS:    The IPRO program is not adequately funded and academic units

are not adequately compensated for faculty resources assigned

to the IPRO program,



The General Education requirement be reduced to three

credit hours of IPRO.


It is moved and seconded that the USC call the question.

The motion to call the question requires a 2/3 majority.  The motion fails (10,10,0)


It is moved and seconded that the motion be tabled until the next meeting.

The motion to table passes.


Prof. Snapper

Acting Secretary to the USC.