Minutes of the Undergraduate Studies Committee



Attending Voting Members: J. Saniie (ECE), E-J Lee (PSYC), K. Spink (BIOL), M. Safar (INTM), J. Twombly (SSB), Y. Torun (PHYS), R. Trygstad (ITM), G. Fasshauer, (AMAT), B. Steffenson (SSCI), S. Tin (MMAE), F. Teymour (ChBE), B. O’Brien (ROTC), G. Pulliam (HUM/CAC), M. Tanner (CHEM), D. Meyer (MSED), S. Ahva (SGA), S. Sennott (ARCH), P. Troyk (BME).


Also attending: G. Smith (UGAA), M. Lopez (One Stop), D. Gandara (PSYC), T. Jacobius (IPRO), E. Mitchell (LCHS), M. Flanagan (HUM).


Absent departments: CAEE, CS.


The meeting is chaired by Matt Bauer.


Documents pertaining to this meeting are here: http://www.iit.edu/~ugsc/documents/


Adjourn: 1:46 p.m. Minutes recorded by Pulliam.


Chair notes there is a quorum at 12:47 p.m.


Minutes of 9/11/2012 meeting are approved unanimously.


Old business 

1) Motion: IPRO 397 is approved as an option for the first of the two required IPRO experiences. Approved unanimously, one abstention.


New business

2) Ellen Mitchell, acting dean of the forthcoming Lewis College of Human Sciences (LCHS) discusses the new college, responds to questions.


-six new degree proposals currently under study

-development of advisory board

-other possible initiatives


3) Sammy Tin on proposed minor changes to Aerospace Engineering curriculum.


a. replace PHYS 224 with MMAE 305 (Dynamics)

b. replace MMAE 417/418/472 with a technical elective

c. replace MMAE 450 with a free elective


Discussion focused on the issue of dropping PHYS 224, and possible changes to PHYS 123 and 221. This item will be voted on during the 10/9/2012 meeting.


4) Discussion of proposed changes to the general education requirements, focused on communication requirements, credit hour increases in gen ed, co-curricular activities. Chair to create and post a concise representation/comparison of proposed vs. current gen ed requirements for use in future discussions, both in committee and elsewhere.