Illinois Institute of Technology

Alumni Awards

We look forward to seeing you at the 2024 Alumni Awards ceremony that will take place during Illinois Tech’s Homecoming Weekend.

More in Alumni Awards

800x650 - Alumni Awards 2024

2024 Award Recipients

Learn more about the 2024 Alumni Award recipients!

View Recipients

About Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards 2023 Image1
Alumni Awards 2023 Image2
Alumni Awards 2023 Image3

Since 1946, Alumni Awards have been presented to Illinois Tech's most accomplished, innovative, and influential alumni. Alumni Award winners add to our university's rich history of visionaries who make the Illinois Tech community proud.

Each year Alumni Awards are presented in nine categories, detailed below. The opportunity to honor alumni from around the world would not be possible without the assistance of the greater Illinois Tech community. 

All nominations must consist of a completed nomination form and may include up to two letters of recommendations and a brief biography, CV or resume. Please keep all resumes or CVs to two pages or less. Neither nominators nor those submitting letters of recommendation are required to be Illinois Tech alumni. The awards committee considers each nomination for two consecutive awards cycles. After a nomination has expired, there is a required one-year break before it may be resubmitted.

Award Categories

Alumni Medal

The Alumni Medal honors distinguished service to the university by alumni who have displayed the qualities of the Collens Merit Award, Alumni Service Award, and Professional Achievement Award. This is the highest honor bestowed by the Illinois Tech Alumni Association. Submit a nomination for the Alumni Medal. 

Alumni Service Award

The Alumni Service Award honors an individual who demonstrates continuous, selfless commitment to and devoted enthusiasm for Illinois Tech through involvement in various areas of the university including, but not limited to, recruitment, support, service, and leadership. Submit a nomination for the Alumni Service Award. 

Collens Merit Award

The Collens Merit Award is awarded to an individual nominated by the staff and/or faculty who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the future of Illinois Tech through philanthropic contributions paired with involvement in his or her gift. Submit a nomination for the Collens Merit Award.

Galvin Award

The Galvin Award was established for Illinois Tech to honor non-alumni for their leadership and dedication. This award recognizes an individual whose service, leadership, and philanthropy have significantly advanced the university. Submit a nomination for the Galvin Award. (Nominations are made by university faculty and staff.)

International Award of Merit

The International Award of Merit recognizes an individual whose achievements have strengthened Illinois Tech's reputation on an international scale. Submit a nomination for the International Award of Merit.

The John J. Schommer Honor I Award

The John J. Schommer Honor I Award is awarded to alumni who excelled in both leadership and performance as student athletes at Illinois Tech and who also went on to achieve significant success after graduation. Submit a nomination for the John J. Schommer Honor I Award.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed posthumously on an individual who has recently passed away and who, during his or her life, achieved personal success, made an outstanding contribution to his or her chosen field of endeavor, and achieved recognition by his or her colleagues. Submit a nomination for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award 

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award honors alumni age 40 or younger who have advanced rapidly over the course of their careers and have displayed significant achievement in the areas of leadership and professional success. Submit a nomination for the Outstanding Young Alumni Award.

Professional Achievement Award

The Professional Achievement Award recognizes outstanding achievement in any professional field. This award honors alumni whose achievements in their fields have brought distinction to themselves as well as credit to Illinois Tech. Recipients will have achieved great success as recognized by any or all of the following qualities:

  • Membership in peer-elected professional organizations marking the highest level of achievement in a given industry
  • Industry awards and special recognition received
  • Leadership positions held
  • Significant success and/or accomplishment by the individual in the chosen field 

Submit a nomination for the Professional Achievement Award.

All new submissions will be considered for 2025 Alumni Awards.

Selection Committee

Jason Resch (CS '06)
John Abramic (CHE '97, LAW '01)
Hamid Arastoopour (M.S. GE '75, Ph.D. '78)
Michael E. Hill (CS '82)
Sandro Mazzini (CHE '94)
Dawn Schuette (ARCH '92, M.A.S. CRP '93)
Mark Sexton (ARCH '80)
Will Syvongsa (BME '14, EMGT '14)

Watch the 2023 awards ceremony:


Contact Ashley Agron, Director of Constituent Engagement, at or 312.567.3939 with any questions.