ASCE Awards Recognize Outstanding Civil and Architectural Engineering Students



By Mary Ceron-Reyes

Social Media Links

ASCE 2020 Student Awards

Two undergraduate students from Illinois Institute of Technology Armour College of Engineering’s Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering were recently recognized for their outstanding academic achievements and professional pursuits by the American Society of Civil Engineers

Audrey Van Linn

Audrey Van Linn (CE, M.E. STE 4th Year) received the 2020–2021 B. Charles Tiney Memorial ASCE Student Chapter Scholarship. This scholarship provides tuition assistance to undergraduate students studying in the field of engineering. Recipients are selected based on academic performance, educational plans, leadership activities, and financial need.

Van Linn plans to apply her master’s degree to practice structural engineering in the industry and shares that this scholarship will help fund tuition expenses without incurring additional student loan debt.

Zachary Haney

Zachary Haney (AE/M.E. STE 4th Year) was awarded the 2020–2021 Y.C. Yang Civil Engineering Scholarship. This merit scholarship promotes and fosters interest in structural engineering and encourages students to further their civil engineering education. Haney says that he is interested in both structural engineering and architecture, focusing on how the two disciplines interact with each other.

In addition, Illinois Tech’s student chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers was recently recognized with the society’s 2020 Certificate of Commendation for outstanding achievements during Haney’s tenure as chapter president.

“This award reflects the hard work that I, the executive board, and all members of the ASCE­ Illinois Tech Chapterperformed during the year of 2019,” says Haney. “I am hopeful the effort we put in will leave a lasting impact on the club to continue celebrating the great profession of civil engineering.”

Illinois Tech’s ASCE student chapter accomplishments reflect the enthusiasm and hard work of its student officers, members, faculty advisers, and the overall contributions they are making to the advancement and future of engineering.