Camras Scholars Program

Deadline: November 15 (Apply via Early Decision I or Early Action I)
No separate application required.

Illinois Tech’s Camras Scholars program is looking for who’s next. Named for Marvin Camras (EE ’40, M.S. ’42), a pioneer in magnetic recording technology, Camras scholars have solved age-old problems in structural engineering, developed novel methods for improving campus life, and increased the overall academic ethic and social ethic of their fellow students. The group’s mission is to help its members achieve their personal and professional goals, while promoting excellence in groundbreaking and innovative research, social and entrepreneurial leadership, and service to the Illinois Tech community and the world as a whole. Of all students who apply to Illinois Tech, less than 1 percent are selected to be Camras Scholars.

The interprofessional spirit at Illinois Tech makes for more than just good engineers, scientists, architects, and others. It challenges our students to go beyond their fields of study and see the rest of the world—and the Camras scholars are no exception.

Scholarship Benefits

  • Full-tuition based on the tuition rates of the student’s first year. The same amount is awarded each consecutive year and does not cover the cost of a tuition increase. Students are eligible for up to four years of undergraduate tuition; five years if the student is in the architecture program.
  • Camras Scholars are expected to make meaningful contributions to the campus and the Illinois Tech community in three focus areas known as the Camras Pillars: leadership, research, and service.

How to Apply

  • Apply via the Early Decision I (binding) or Early Action I (non-binding) application deadline.
  • Camras scholars candidates must submit their completed application (including transcripts and official test scores) to Illinois Tech by November 15 to be considered for this scholarship.
  • No additional scholarship application is necessary. If an applicant is selected as a finalist for the Camras Scholarship, they will be informed in late December.
  • Candidates who are selected as finalists are required to participate in a round table discussion with a faculty member and other finalists at Illinois Tech’s Scholarship Symposium in February.

Application Timeline

November 15Students must submit their completed Common Application along with test scores (optional), transcripts, and one letter of recommendation
Late DecemberCamras semi-finalists are notified and invited to Scholarship Symposium to participate in a roundtable discussion taking place in early February
Early FebruaryCamras semi-finalists will attend Scholarship Symposium and participate in a roundtable discussion group, led by Illinois Tech faculty
Late FebruaryCamras Scholarship recipients will be notified of their selection
April 1Decision deadline to accept Camras Scholarship
May 1Enrollment deposit due

Roundtable Discussion Details

Students will be placed into small groups (5-7 students) separated by major. (Majors with lower numbers may need to be combined into a common theme.)

A two-part interview will take place:

  • Part 1: Leadership questions—Students will be asked questions about their own personal philosophy of leadership, lessons they’ve learned about leadership from past experiences, and ways they hope to contribute to Illinois Tech as campus leaders.
  • Part 2: Major-related discussion—Students will engage in a discussion about current topics/issues related to their academic majors. This portion is designed by Illinois Tech faculty and students are notified of their discussion topics ahead of time to allow them to prepare.

Camras Info Session

If you are nominated for the Fall 2024 Camras Scholarship, prepare for your interview at leadership symposium by joining us at one of the two below listed Camras info sessions.


Eligibility Requirements

  • Satisfy very high selection standards and demonstrate outstanding academics, involvement in extracurricular activities, and dedication to leadership
  • Be a full-time student enrolled in a minimum 12 credit hours per semester.
  • Be a United States citizen or permanent resident (Dreamer friendly)

Additional Information

The Camras Scholarship cannot be combined with other Illinois Tech institutional scholarships such as Elevate, Heald, FIRST Robotics, VEX Robotics, Duchossois, Crown, Leadership Academy, Chicago Police and Fire, Collens, and more. If a student earns multiple Illinois Tech institutional scholarships throughout the admission process, the university will award the highest institutional award for which the student is qualified but will not combine multiple awards.

The Camras Scholarship covers tuition costs for the bachelor’s degree program only. If a student chooses to pursue an accelerated master’s degree at Illinois Tech, they can apply their original Heald Scholarship award towards their tuition for graduate-level courses at the undergraduate tuition rate.

If you are awarded the Camras Scholarship and the Illinois MAP Grant: The Camras Scholarship is restricted to tuition charges only and the Illinois MAP Grant is restricted to tuition and mandatory fee charges. For this reason, the total of the two awards cannot exceed the total of tuition charges, activity fees, and student service fees. Moreover, the Camras Scholarship cannot exceed the total value of tuition charges from the first year the scholar attends Illinois Tech.

What is the Camras Scholars Program?

The Camras Scholars Program (CSP) is a student-led organization here on campus that oversees and runs the program for current and alumni Camras scholars. Currently, over 150+ currently enrolled students in all majors and disciplines make up the Camras Scholars body, alongside a vast network of alumni around the world.