Inaugural Armour Dean’s Awards for Excellence Winners



By Simon Morrow
Photo of the front of John T. Rettaliata Engineering Center

Illinois Institute of Technology Carol and Ed Kaplan Armour College Dean of Engineering Endowed Chair Kenneth T. Christensen announced the formation of a new set of annual awards through which the Armour College of Engineering dean’s office will recognize faculty, staff, and teaching assistants.  

Winners of the Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Research, Teaching, and Service were selected from department nominations of deserving faculty and staff. Winners of the Dean's Awards for Excellence in Advising and the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards were selected from undergraduate and master’s student nominations.

“Our faculty, staff, and students are making an impact on our college and the broader community through their dedication to excellent research, teaching, and service. Armour’s new Dean’s Awards for Excellence celebrates these efforts and accomplishments,” says Christensen. “Congratulations to the well-deserved winners.” 

Congratulations to the following winners:

2022 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research: Assistant Professor Mohammad Heidarinejad, Associate Professor Seok Hoon Hong, and Professor Matthew Spenko

2022 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching: Professor Donald Chmielewski and Adjunct Faculty Laurence Rohter

2022 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service: Academic Program Coordinator Joanette Catino, Academic Program Coordinator Beatrice Person, and Associate Professor Murat Vural

2022 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Advising: Professor David Arditi, Academic Program Coordinator Joanette Catino, Senior Lecturer John Cesarone, Associate Professor Carrie Hall, Assistant Professor Mohammad Heidarinejad, Professor Zuyi Li, Walter and Harriet Filmer Endowed Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering Jafar Saniie, and Professor Brent Stephens

2022 Armour College Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Michael Desch (ARCE, M.Eng. STE ’18, Ph.D. CE Candidate), James Henry (AE ’17, Ph.D. MAE Candidate), Hans Johnson (M.S. EE ’21, Ph.D. EE Candidate), Satyajeet Khopkar (M.S. MAE 2nd Year), Elias Kluiszo (BME 4th Year), Peng Wang (Ph.D. CE Candidate), and Xinrui Yu (M.S. EE ’17, Ph.D. EE Candidate)

Image: Photo of the John T. Rettaliata Engineering Center